Tags

, , , , ,

I can almost guarantee that you have never heard of Convoy For Heroes. But, you will have heard of Help For Heroes and you will have heard of Land Rovers. Convoy is basically a convoy (yeah I know, how didn’t you see that coming?) of Land Rovers, with the aim of raising money for Help for Heroes.

We hold one every year, and I have attended every single one from 2011, but wasn’t on the Event Team until 2012. It’s usually held over Easter weekend, but this year was on St. George’s Day.

The main convoy is on the Sunday, and everyone competes for the best bonnet decoIMG_4289ration and the best use of flags on the vehicle.

As a special bonus this year, I got to ride in my truck – yes, my truck. I can’t actually drive yet so a friend of my Dad’s drove it 🙂 It’s a green Defender 90, and her name is Miss Money Penny. I cannot wait to drive her myself!

Since 2011, we’ve made thousands of pounds for H4H and are a recognised charity – members from their team visit us each year. One year we made over £14,000.

Hopefully the event will continue next year (it’s currently being carefully thought about by the directors) so I can drive my own truck in the convoy! If any of you lot own a Landy, I suggest you take a look at the Convoy4Heroes website or facebook page 😉

 

