Tags

, , , , , ,

I know it sounds horrible, but getting the contraceptive implant was one of the best decisions I’ve made. For those of you who aren’t familiar, the Nexplanon Implant is a tiny little tube that is inserted on the underside of your upper arm. It’s about the size of a small matchstick, and is invisible – but it can be felt if the arm is squeezed. It releases Etonogestrel (a progestogen) into the bloodstream which prevents a woman from becoming pregnant.

How to get one

When I began thinking about which contraceptives to use, I thought about all of the criteria that I wanted – long term vs short term, can it be stopped immediately, side effects etc. I discovered the implant, and researched into it a lot. I then made an appointment with a contraception nurse at my local doctors. I met with her and we talked about my needs and she decided that the implant was the way to go forward. She booked me in for an appointment in a weeks time.

Getting it inserted

This is the bit I wasn’t looking forward to. I am not good with needles, so the worst part for me was when she used some local anaesthetic to numb my arm. I then looked away as she made a small incision in my arm and pushed in a large tube which delivered the implant to my arm. Whilst it didn’t hurt, I could feel her putting it in, and it was uncomfortable at most. She cleaned it up and put a dressing on it that had to be left on for a few days. It was not as bad as I thought it was going to be.

How has it worked for me?

Well, I’m not pregnant. Which I at least would expect as the implant is over 99.9% effective. I had seen a couple of horror stories online about women that had a constant period after insertion, and women that periods got worse, but thank God, mine got so much better, since having the implant back in February, I haven’t had a full period – I just get light spotting for 2-3 days a month. I still get period cramps around this time but they are more manageable. Migraines that I used to associate with my period have stopped also. The scar from insertion is absolutely tiny, about 2mm in diameter – which means people don’t know you have it unless you want them to.

Would I recommend it?

100% yes! It has worked a treat for me, but remember that each person is different and may react to it differently. A bonus for me was that the implant lasts three years, so unless you have plans for the next few years, you’re gucci. The implant can be removed anytime after 3 or so months, and you can have another fitted if you want one.

I hope this was helpful to anyone thinking about getting one, make sure you look into it and research lots before you decide to do it!

